He Did It

20131123-113732.jpg

So…my prayer yesterday was that God’s will be done here at the Roy’s Folks festival in High Point, NC.  And it was.

Most of the day I spent in torment.  Not a lot was happening for me…and on top of it…all I could think about was what I could be doing if I were at home.  It was pretty rough.  I’m doing a Bible study with some friends right now about Chasing after the right things.  And I’ve worked very hard to figure out what I’m chasing, and turn myself in the right direction.  I was sitting not doing much and two ladies walked up.  They started asking questions interrupting my reading and I harumphed.  They started pointing to CDs and asking questions.  One pointed to my “Pink Ribbon” CD and asked about it.  I explained it was one song, the CD was $5 and the proceeds go to Susan G. Komen.  So I played some of it for her.  And she began to weep.  My mother, being my mother went to talk to her and the woman explained her daughter had just died.  Come to find out, she had passed away and NO ONE knows why.  I played another song for her from my “Prodigal: A Reckless Child on Her Way Back Home” album.  Then, before she left, God made a reckless child remember a wonderful thing.  I played a song I haven’t recorded.  It’s called “Hope (1 Thessalonians 4:13)”.

“But we do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve as others do who have no hope.”

And that’s what the song is about.

“Don’t cry for me, like a child who’s lost her mother, I’ve gone to a place that’s like no other where I belong.  Don’t play real slow, no need for a funeral march, be sure to give it all your heart it’s my last song.    Don’t mourn for me like someone who can’t cope…just miss me like a child of God with hope.”

So…thanks for the prayers.  Because as always…God’s will was done.
Amen and amen.

Leave a Reply

