WORD TO THE WISE: Reading, Writing, Reading Again

2015/01/img_4579-0.jpg   Hello lovers of the light and the Lord.  Cravers of the good and the bad.  Especially the ugly.  Let’s grow wiser together.  But first…let’s read this post.

Reading

So if you’re school age, or within five years of finishing school you’ll be able to lament with me over reading.  Because you are (like me) in a time in your life when the word “reading” is synonymous with “involuntary”.  “Reading” a book means you could get something marvelous like “Les Miserables” or “Macbeth“.  But most likely, you’re going to have to suffer through “The Scarlet Letter” or even worse…”Don Quixote“.  So “reading” and “for fun” seems like some sort of sick joke.  But let me assure you, there is a light at the end of the tunnel.  I found that light this week.  The Lord has already assured me that this year, we will be working on my Love.  Meaning, my capacity to love like Him.  (I fail a lot.  But we’re going to work on it this year.)  ANYWAY…to prepare for a year of Love, I’ve been reading all the books in my library that say anything about love on the cover.  “Love Wins“, “Crazy Love“, “Love Does“…this is my reading list currently.  What I was working on this past week was finishing a new book by a man named Jon Weece.  The book is called “Jesus Prom“.  Now, I know what you’re thinking.  “But Maggie…that doesn’t say Love in the title!”  Well, if you’d just look at the subtitle…which is “Life gets fun when you Love people like God does”.  Isn’t that the truth!  Well, I got really wrapped up in finishing this book and realizing that suddenly…reading was fun for me!  I finished that book and decided I wanted to start another.  So Thursday, I read “Love Does” by Bob Goff.  No.  No grammatical error.  I read Goff’s 208 page book.  On Thursday.  Started it around 3:00 p.m. and finished around 3:00 a.m.  Surrounding myself with such good and wholesome words has really affected my week.  I’m so excited about reading more and more about Love in the coming weeks and sharing with you everything I learn

Writing

I’ve been told a lot recently that I should be writing more.  Most specifically, people have said I should be blogging.  (My blog auto-corrected “blogging” to…”brown”…)  ANYWAY.  I liked that idea.  I plan to write more here for/with you this year.  Hopefully, a schedule will emerge, but I’m not going to tell you what it is.  In the past, that has just served to make me feel somewhat like a failure for missing my own deadlines.  That in mind, I’m not going to set deadlines.  I’m just going to want to write.  Because I do.  So I will.

Reading Again

I finished a book Wednesday.  I Finished a whole book Thursday.  I’m reading a book with a friend.  I’m reading “Crazy Love” again to remember how crazy God’s Love really is.  And remind myself how crazy and reckless my Love should be.  My Love should need a helmet.  My Love should scare strangers.  My Love should like to lick flagpoles when it’s cold outside.  I want that kind of Love.  I want crazy Love.  I want reckless Love.  I want Love that lights things on fire and gets EVERYWHERE!!!

Leave a Reply

