Can You Hear Me Now?

Today started a new leg of my upcoming adventure!  I received a pre-trip package from Living Water International (LWI) and it contained a shirt, the contact card for my trip coordinator, and a trip binder.  

This trip binder has a lot of cool items in it!  It’s got info on LWI, info on Guatemala, airports, traveling, and even a section of devotionals to do before, during, and after your trip!  The pre-trip devos start 5 days from your departure date and at 7:44 this morning it was 5 days 00 hours 00 minutes and 00 seconds until my plane boards!!!  So I FINALLY got to start the devotionals.


I’ve only done one so far but it was JUST as wonderful as I had hoped.  Guiding you through some great pre-trip thoughts.  There was an amazing quote from Mark Twain his morning.

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.”

But here is the thing from this day that absolutely blew my mind.  I am going to a Spanish speaking country and I do not know Spanish (although I do know more than I did thanks to Duolingo).  There was a reminder that Central American countries are very aware of politeness.  You should be conscious of the way you communicate down to your body language!  And while trying to spread the good news of the Gospel we don’t want to send the wrong message.  So they suggest that you assume that everyone around you can understand what you’re saying.  

That’s a good rule for another language.  But let’s take it one step farther:

How much different would life be if we spoke assuming everyone we knew could hear us?

Would we still say those words about that girl we work with who is just TOO much?  Or the words about that man who came to church last Sunday in grease stained pants with dirt under his nails?  (And if we would…we have a whole ‘nother set of problems!)

So…ask venture of and assume that everyone can understand me…I challenge you.  Nay.  I dare you to assume everyone can hear you.

Adios, mi compadres.

(Well done Duolingo!)

Leave a Reply

