trump. (as in “beats out”).

Okay kiddos.  I haven’t spoken on the election because…the fact is, it isn’t very high up on my radar right now.  But when I woke up this morning and started thinking about today’s blog post…I thought of the election, Max Lucado, the book of Isaiah and Amy Grant.  Let’s start with Amy Grant.  Pull up her album How Mercy Looks from Here and go to track 4: “Deep As It Is Wide (featuring Sheryl Crow and Eric Paslay)”.  Put that on endless repeat and let me hop up on this virtual podium for a hot minute.

I am a huge Amy Grant fan!  The first time I ever sang in public, I sang her song “Angels” at a talent show in elementary school.  Also in elementary school, I wrote a letter to my favorite author as part of a class project.  I wrote a man named Max Lucado.  About five of the students in my class received a response.  I was one of them.  I still have my hand written note from one of my favorite authors.  I very much respect him which is why I was so disgusted by the post on his Facebook page.  Not his post…but someone’s response to it.

Here is his post.  May I just say…I love this.  This should be our prayer for president…for our pastors…for our governors…for our principals…for our world leaders…this should be the prayer on our lips for every individual in a place of prominence.  But here is what broke my heart.

Apparently, Mr. Lucado was vocally anti-Trump during the election.  After posting this, his “fans/followers” responded out of spite and hatred.  One woman heaped shame in his direction for jumping on the Trump train to “save face”.  The one that really got me though, was the woman who condemned him for elevating David, Daniel, and Solomon to the place of Jesus…and Trump to the level of David, Daniel, and Solomon.  She then went on to tirade on the evilness of Trump…and of Hillary and the fact that the Bible tells us to flee every appearance of evil.  That ticked me off.  But that is not what I want to focus on.  What I want to focus on is this word that has been flung around and around since the election: evil.

EVIL.

I have heard this word a lot.  I have also heard the word fear.  I have heard people saying that women, minorities, and conscientious people “have to be afraid because of the evil that Trump represents”.  First of all…as a woman…I not only don’t have to be afraid of Mr. Trump…I refuse to be.  I choose to put my hope and joy in Jesus…and not my fear in a man designed by Him. Next is this:

How many times have you seen this since the election?  How many times have you heard it?  How many times have you posted or said it?  Here is what this sign says, “Although Mr. Trump was elected president of the United States, we trust her people to rise above and let love trump hate.”

So where are the people of this country who are willing to stand up and say, “Although Mr. Trump was elected president of the United States, we trust THAT OUR GOD WILL TRUMP EVIL.”?

I read this sentence “God trumps evil” in a book the day after Trump was elected (I love God’s sense of humor…and irony).  I read this sentence in a book entitled You’ll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times.  A book…by Mr. Max Lucado.

I woke up this morning knowing that this was what I wanted to write about today.  And as I did my Bible reading to get my mind and heart in the right spot…I came across this verse.

“Let the wicked change their ways and banish the very thought of doing wrong.  Let them turn to the Lord that He may have mercy on them.  Yes, turn to our God, for He will forgive generously.”  -Isaiah 55:7 (NLT)

I will not have fear of a man.  I will not have fear of his administration.  Because I have faith in God.  I have faith in His Kingdom.  And I have proof that this God trumps evil.  And I have a promise that He will continue to do so.

So you have a reaction to the election in any way you want…but don’t tell our children they have to be afraid, and don’t tell our authors they have to quit relating Mr. Trump to Bible characters, and don’t tell Facebook that our new president proves this whole country is backwards.  Instead…find the highest hill around you.  Climb it.  Grab a friend and take your family and march up to the very tip,top of that mountain and shout…from the bottom of your heart and the top of your lungs:

Leave a Reply

