That Thing I Love

917kxoljgil-_sx355_

Oh yes.  I love it so much.  This is the Crosley Musician CR704C-PA.  I don’t remember how many Christmases it has been now.  But I asked for a record player.  I found this one while shopping with my mother at Big Lots (Just gave Big Lots a shout out there because of how GRATEFUL I AM FOR MY RECORD PLAYER!!!).  But I digress.  I love my record player so, SO much.  And let me tell you a couple of reasons why.

First of all, I love older music.  Glenn Miller, Gene Krupa, Tommy Dorsey, Nat King Cole, Peggy Lee, Sammy Davis Jr., Dean Martin, Canned Heat, Cream, Kansas, Boston, ABBA, Billy Joel…I could continue but we’d be here ALL day.  I have always loved this music but I tend to be even more relaxed than ever when listening to these songs on my record player.  Another thing I love is collecting the albums of the artists that I love!  It’s so much fun to go into dusty record shops, and dusty antique stores, and dusty consignment places and dig through dusty crates to find dusty records (record hunting is not for the asthmatic or faint of heart).

I also severely enjoy listening to the artists my parents listened to growing up…on the albums my parents listened to growing up.  We have a rather large collection of albums that my parents bought when they were new.  I have a dear friend I love to go record shopping with.  But I’ve had a lot of fun shopping with him because he’ll be really excited about a new pressing of something old he got at Barnes and Noble and I just smile and nod while thinking, “Yeah.  But I have a copy of that Led Zeppelin album that my dad bought new in 1971.”

But this morning, I had the coolest experience with my records.

I fell behind this week on blogging so this post, posted the 23rd of November, was actually written on the 25th.  As was my post about Thanksgiving, which was on the 24th this year. So this blog is actually about tomorrows blog which I wrote two days ago…

Anyway…

My Thanksgiving blog was about Norman Rockwell’s “Freedom from Want” painting.  This painting was completed in November of 1942 and published in The Saturday Evening Post on March 6th, 1943.  This publication date was two years and three months after the speech that inspired it.

norman-rockwell-thanksgiving-thanksgiving-2927689-375-479

The speech was Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s 9th State of the Union address given on January 6th, 1941.  In this speech, FDR talked heavily on the need of this country to support the countries that were currently at war.  Toward the end of his speech, he spoke of “the four freedoms”.  These freedoms are: the freedoms of speech and of worship, and the freedoms from want and from fear.  Noble beliefs to hold especially in the face of impending war.

fdrin1936wapostphoto

Now, I know what you’re thinking.  “Okay.  So I started reading this cool blog post about a record player and suddenly I’m getting a history lesson.  Where are we going with this Margaret?”  Well…my name isn’t Margaret and here’s where we’re going.

I wrote my Thanksgiving post.  It was about Norman Rockwell’s painting inspired by FDR’s  speech.  I was just learning all the history behind this picture.  And after writing this I was amazed.  As an American, I’ve always liked Norman Rockwell’s paintings but I had no idea the amount of thought that went into each of them.  I was impressed.  And I wanted to hear what FDR had said that inspired such amazing work from one of this countries greatest artists.

Thats when I remembered the beach!  (Have I confused you yet?)  You see, this past summer, on what would be one of the last trips I ever took with my father, we went shop hopping.  We were with old family friends and we just jumped from store to store.  Little consignment shops and what not.  Holes in the wall, if you will.  One of the first places we stopped…I didn’t go in.  Didn’t look like my kind of place.  Mom and dad went in and a few minutes later dad came back out.  He got in the car and said, “It’s okay if you’re not interested.  But they’ve got a LOT of records in their.  They’ve actually got a box set of records with FDR’s speeches on them.”  Well, I’m weird.  That sounded exciting.  So I went in and bought it.  I haven’t listened to it…wasn’t sure I ever would.  I just like having interesting things like that.

So at 3:00 am.  While I’m reading over my Thanksgiving post looking for mistakes…what should come to mind but a box set of records I bought at the beach over the summer.  I pulled it out…and sure enough on record five side eight I find it “2.  January 6, 1941 – State of the Union”.  I pulled off the Nat King Cole I had been playing in the background and slid it on.  I then sat in my office chair listening to the President of the United States, eleven months and one day before Pearl Harbor would be attacked, talk about the need of solidarity in the face of this war.  Talk about the need to support major world powers against the onslaught of evil.  And finally, with baited breath, to hear him speak of four freedoms.  Four essential rights of every man and woman.

In the future days, which we seek to make secure, we look forward to a world founded upon four essential human freedoms.

The first is freedom of speech and expression — everywhere in the world.

The second is freedom of every person to worship God in his own way — everywhere in the world.

The third is freedom from want, which, translated into world terms, means economic understandings which will secure to every nation a healthy peacetime life for its inhabitants — everywhere in the world.

The fourth is freedom from fear, which, translated into world terms, means a world-wide reduction of armaments to such a point and in such a thorough fashion that no nation will be in a position to commit an act of physical aggression against any neighbor — anywhere in the world.

And that is why my record player is that thing I love.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some  Count Basie over here that isn’t going to play itself…

Leave a Reply

