WORD TO THE WISE:  Bursting, Orality, and Church Coffee

So…I have to be honest.  I’m a little ticked off right now.  You see…I just spent a good thirty minutes writing this post…and then God saw fit to have me lose it to the great wide internetal beyond.  I didn’t want to lose it.  I didn’t want to spend time writing it again. I liked what I wrote the first time.  But I did.  And it’s gone.  So here I am, writing it over again. If you don’t like it…feel free to not tell me.  

Bursting

I’m trying to read through the Bible.  And I’ve made it as far as Isaiah and I’ve been stuck there because…well…I’m pretty sure Isaiah is my least favorite book of the Bible (I haven’t read them all so I can’t be sure that is 100% accurate…but I’m almost positive.).  But the cool thing here is this: we can’t get great impact and meaning from even our “least favorite Bible book”.  Isaiah 64:1 begins this way in the New Living Translation: “Oh, that you would burst from the heavens and come down!”  Isn’t that great?!?  I love the image these words create.  Father God, I want you to fill up my universe so much that you ooze a little around the edges. And then, as you continue to show yourself in my life, day in and day out, I want you to just…burst.  Erupt all over me like a volcano of Your amazingness.  And when You burst from the heavens…oh that I would burst into uncontrollable praise.

Orality

I have written this post twice now…in Texas.  I flew down Friday, spent yesterday at a seminar, and after church…I’m flying home today.  Just came for the seminar.  A seminar on orality.  What is orality you ask?  Well, I’m glad you asked.  Orality is the newest tool in evangelism.  It is a focus that has developed on witnessing to the 70% of our world that are oral learners.  This means that they can’t, don’t, or won’t read or learn from written instruction.  And that’s almost half.  (Please know I’m joking.)  So I’ve been here this weekend learning how to share the word of God and the stories of Jesus as just that: stories.  It has been amazing!  And I can’t wait to see how God is going to incorporate that into my future in His Kingdom.

Church Coffee

I found out about this seminar because I religiously watch the website of an organization called Living Water International. I found out about LWI because during the Lent season of 2015, I gave up first world problems.  For the 40 day holyday, I ate the food the poorest people of different countries would eat.  This was an experience guided by a book: A Place at the Table: 40 Days of Solidarity with the Poor.  It changed my life and my perspective.  And this book was written by a man named Chris Seay.  While thinking about how much this book affected my life, and looking over it as I prepared to leave for Texas, I realized something.  Chris Seay isn’t only an author.  He is a pastor at a church…in Houston, Texas.  So I looked it up and discovered that there was also a coffee shop…at the church…in a warehouse…with a beautiful view of Houston…it was perfect.  As soon as I landed in Houston, I went over and got a cup of coffee.  It was beautiful!  Last night I went back to wait for my dinner reservation…and you know what?  I ended up canceling my reservation and eating Applewood Brisket, sweet potato fries, and fried okra that I got at a coffee shop…in a church…in a warehouse…with a great view of Houston.

And you know what?

It was the best brisket I’ve ever had at church!

Leave a Reply

