Canopy – Devo #1

246220985986ed2897d40d574efadd87-1000x1000x1

Here’s the truth.  No lie.  I’m going to choose the albums I want for my blog for devotions each week.  Which means you are going to exposed to some music you probably wouldn’t have listened to otherwise.  I have a very wide range of musical loves and you’re getting exposed to that early because this week’s CD is a rap album.  Now, the fact is, I hesitate calling these guys “Christian rappers” for two reasons.  First…I know they don’t like it; and second…I’ve heard a lot of preachers speak recently on the fact that the divide between secular in sacred should not exist.  God created all…all is sacred.  While we can choose to defile things, we shouldn’t choose to dissect them into secular and sacred. That being said…I really love Christian rap.  This is a new artist I had actually never heard before this week but his rhymes are awesome, his music is amazing, and his lyrics are spot on.  So this week’s devotions are from some rap.  Now…if that’s something you can’t handle…I look forward to seeing you back next week!  But if you’re up for something new…then let’s get into it!

Devo #1: “Tree Tops”

Now this guy uses some pretty awesome sounds samples.  He has stampeding horses in several places.  And just about the time your mind figures out what it is and you’re thinking, “Why horses”…he says “Tribe on the move”.  I love it.  This song is amazing.  It’s basically his testimony in song.  I love the way he works in all of the tree puns.

But the thing that I love most about this song is in the refrain.

“Pride got me feelin’ like a leaf fallin’ down,
Canopy catchin’ me ‘fore I’m meetin’ the ground.”

We see this blatant reference to scripture here.  This comes straight out of the book of Proverbs.  I have heard so many people say that rappers can’t be Christian…but if they’re speaking straight scripture?  We’ll talk more about that later.

“Pride goes before destruction,
and a haughty spirit before a fall.”
(Prov. 16:18, ESV)

The cool thing about nobigdyl.’s rhyme here is the second line.  God has promised us that too much pride will cause us to fall, fail, and flail.  But He doesn’t just let us fall into an abyss.  As we are plummeting from our self-acclaimed heights, if we realize what we have done and ask His forgiveness…He saves us before our foot even touches a single rock (Ps. 91:12).

Leave a Reply

