One-Way Conversations – Devo #5

Now, I’m sure some of you are done with Hollyn.  I’ve actually heard a lot of people talk about how they can’t stand when Christian singers do songs that are not explicitly about Jesus.  If I’m being honest, I was that way at one time.  But no more, and now I love songs that apply to other areas of my life.  That is where this song comes in.  I need everyone reading this who is in a toxic relationship to perk their ears up…this one is for you.

Devo #5:  “Go”

So here’s the deal.  This song has a lot of different directions to go in.  First, let me speak on one I know nothing about.  That sounds good right?  Let’s talk about those toxic relationships I mentioned above.

“You must have some magnet in your soul,
Pulling me away from what I know,”

Whoa.  Please understand, I have no experience with a toxic dating relationship or marriage (also understand I’m not being haughty here…I have no experience in either of these categories period), but I do know one thing: there are some toxic relationships out there.  I want to encourage you to listen to this song and think about your relationships.  If you’re friends have been telling you to get out of it, and if you feel yourself believing things about yourself you’ve never believed before…take a closer look.  Ask the honest people in your life for truth not opinions.

“Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.”
-Proverbs 4:23 (NIV)

Before we finish this song, and this CD, lets look at another side of this song.  I believe in the words written above, but here’s the deal: maybe it’s not about dating.  Maybe it’s not about marriage.  Quite possibly, if Hollyn doesn’t mind me putting words in her mouth, it’s about the enemy.  Did you hear that?  This song could quite possibly just be about watching your back around every corner for attacks from satan.  Whether or not this is true, Proverbs 4:23 still stands.  Guard your heart friends!  Don’t let the Dark One get close enough to get his flaming arrows into your heart.  And remember we are here for one another!  My favorite part of this song is the end when Toby is doing his little bridge.

“She don’t wanna talk to you,
She gon’ wait for something true,
You mess with her…you face this crew,
Nah…she ain’t stayin’ with you!”

Dark One…turn up your hearing aid for a minute.  All my brothers and sisters in Christ who are reading this…if you mess with them: you face this crew.  The body of Christ and the head of the church, Jesus Himself.  And I think you  ran into Him once before…on a hill…and if I recall…it didn’t end well for you.

Love each other.

Leave a Reply

