Yellow Balloons – Devo #2

My theory thus far has been this: don’t acknowledge tardiness.  In the past, I have spent as much time on this blog apologizing for falling behind as I have writing posts.  But the fact is, I am writing Tuesday’s devotion on Friday.  And I need to say that’s okay because of the song for today.  So now that we have that out of the way, lets move on in our deovtions this week on this truly awesome new release from David Dunn.

Devo #2: “I Don’t Have to Worry”

This is a new discovery week for me.  I had never listened to any David Dunn before.  I am in love with his voice.  He’s got soul and he’s got funk in his music!  But we’re here to watch music point us back to Jesus.  So let’s get on that!

This song starts off with a declaration.  A declaration of what we as Christians know about our God and His mighty, awesome power.  It then begs the question we all come to at one point or another in our lives.

“So what am I so afraid of?
Cause you hold the world within your hands,
And that includes my circumstances,
So what am I so afraid of?
Cause nothing is impossible,
No matter how improbable it seems.”

Then we get to the refrain of the song that is very repetitive.  It’s just the title sung about three times.  Now some people have a huge problem with repetitive songs.  But I think it is important to look at what the song is saying.  This song, repetition is nice because the more you sing it out loud…the more it starts to sink in.  I don’t have to worry.

“Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down, but a good word makes him glad.”
-Proverbs 12:25, ESV

Where can we find good words?  We find them in The Word, obviously.  But we also find them in the good words of song lyrics.  But most importantly…we can give them.  We can give them at Walmart, the grocery store, the theatre, the mall, traffic jams, bad days at work, and even in the midst of life’s hardest times.  We don’t have to worry.  And the best thing about that is the fact we get to share with other people that they don’t have to worry.  So speak a good word over someone today.

Love each other.

Leave a Reply

