Yellow Balloons – Devo #3

Y’all.  I am so excited to share this song with you.  When I was listening to this album, the first track/devo really caught my attention.  But when I got to this song I knew for sure this was the album from that week we were going to devo up!  So lets move into it shall we?

Devo #3: “I Wanna Go Back”


I think we can all agree on this: Maggie loves music.  Yes?  I think we can also acknowledge the fact that I like new things, out of the ordinary things, new sounds, new thoughts, new music.  But here is a secret that some people may not know: Maggie loves old music.  No matter the genre!  I adore my record player!  Peggy Lee, Glenn Miller, and Ella Fitzgerald make even my choppiest days smooth.  But I also love the hymns and classic songs of the faith.  That is why I love this song so much.  A song that points us to the foundational songs we have?  Yes please!

“I wanna go back,
To Jesus loves me this I know,

For the Bible tells me, for the Bible tells me so,
I wanna go back,
To this little light gonna let it shine,
Gonna let it shine,
I wanna go back!”

The verses of this song refer to all of the wonderful thoughts of childhood.  The crazy things you wanted to be when you grew up.  I was going to start a website that educated people on the different breeds of whales and dolphins.  Or even the way you viewed people then.  I love where it says that he didn’t care about keeping up with the Joneses.  He was just glad to be friends with them.

This song took me to a slightly random passage in the book of Deuteronomy.

And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.”
-Deteronomy 6:6-9, ESV

We often hear the scriptures reminding us not to dwell on the past.  But the fact is, if we don’t remember our history, we forget important things.  This scripture tells us to continually go back to when God provided the law through Moses.  This song points us back to how much easier faith is for a little child.  They don’t have to believe that Gods got them…they just do.

I would argue this morning that there is a difference between past and history.  Our history is our heritage.  It is why we are who we are.  I don’t remember who first pointed this out but…our history is His-story!  The past is exactly that.  It is events from earlier in our life that are behind us.  Irrelevant.  No longer part of our life.  Our past is the things in our life that have scarred us or the scars we have left on other people that have been transformed into the scars on the Lord Jesus.  They were taken away from us and placed on the Savior of the world on a cross on a hill.  We cannot go back to these things…because they know longer exist.

We must reflect on our history.  We cannot reflect on our past.  When we go back, we need to go back to “Yes, Jesus loves me!”

Love each other.

Leave a Reply

