Yellow Balloons – Devo #4

Can you believe it is already Thursday?  I can.  Because I’m writing this on Friday.  See what I did there?  Lets dive into this thing.  This song is awesome!  You’re gonna love it!

Devo #4: “Masterpiece”

This song uses art terms to highlight some of the greatest attributes of our great God.  It’s very masterful.  See what I did there?  Oooh!  I’m on fire this morning.

This coffee sure is working…

I digress.  I think we all tend to think of a continuing work in ourselves as an unfortunate part of our walk with Jesus.  Like, I want to be my best for Him now please?  Can I just…can I just be the best right this instant?  We think that when we mess up we have some how disappointed God to the point that He can’t recognize us anymore.  Every time we mess up, we need to start fresh.  That’s where the message of this song invades.

“My life is a series of misses,
Of constantly kissing perfection goodbye!
My life is a work that’s unfinished,
A heart that keeps quitin’ a cup that runs dry.”

Isn’t this so true?  My life is just a long story where the only dialogue seems to be me saying, “OOH!  Soooo close!”  But what he points out, in joy, about our dear sweet Jesus, is that He takes these near misses, fallings, undoneness, short stops, and dryness and makes a collage of overwhelming grace.  Isn’t this a revolutionary thought!

For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly.  For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die—but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”
-Romans 5:6-8, ESV

Amazing, huh.  We can hear a truth our whole lives and still not get it.  I don’t know about you, but this is a verse I’ve heard throughout my entire 27 years of church life and it still hadn’t sunk in.  It took the truth set to a funky beat to get it through my thick skull.  But can’t we live this way this week?  Let’s do it!  Let’s live as if our slip ups aren’t something to shame us for the rest of the week.  Let’s live as if our slip ups (we ask forgiveness for and repent from) are just another reminder of how great our God truly is!  He forgives it before it has even happened!

Love each other.

Leave a Reply

