Yellow Balloons – Devo #5

Okay.  I need to warn you.  Today’s devo is serious.  It’s very serious.  I don’t think seriousness should count out a song or a morning devotion…but I did want to let you know before you start in case you’re not ready for serious at 8:00 this morning.  You see, in this song she dies.

Devo #5: “Yellow Balloons”

I loved the name of this album.  I just think its neat.  Then I get to the title track, the last song on the album, and my heart strings are plucked.  You see, Dunn wrote this song after the death of his two-year-old niece.  They still aren’t sure what happened.  Sleep was sought…and sleep was found.

I believe this song is probably for someone this morning.  And I believe that sometimes words can get in the way of music.  So as you listen to this song, I would leave you with this.

“But we do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve as others do who have no hope.  For since we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so, through Jesus, God will bring with him those who have fallen asleep.”
-1 Thessalonians 4:13-14, ESV

Love each other.

d725d2cde9b482bc39a869d976c42529.jpg

Leave a Reply

