The Shack – Devo #1

Good morning loved ones of God!  I hope all is well for you as we enter this new week of devotions.  I’ve got a mug of coffee to my left and a Nalgene of water to my right…so let’s get started this morning.

I’m picking new releases for these devotions just by which ones I like the most.  Personal taste!  But I have started looking at some new criteria.  One of the reasons I chose this CD is because it has different artists.  I thought that would be a cool new thing to try!  Also, if you haven’t checked this soundtrack out yet, it’s about half country singers and half contemporary Christian singers which is pretty cool!

Next thing you need to know is this: I have not read the book…I have not seen the movie.  I just really like the music on this CD!  This is not a The Shack devotion…it is a soundtrack devotion.  Let’s rock n’ roll!

Devo #1: “Lay Our Flowers Down” by Lady Antebellum

Lady Antebellum is a personal favorite.  They have tight harmonies, great energy, and good musicians.  The best mix.  If you don’t know the premise of this movie, this album simply serves as the perfect gift for someone who has experienced a loss.  So many of these songs are about loss!  What I love about this one is its hopefulness.  It embraces the pain but also embraces the love and hope found in those who lose though they trust in Jesus.

“People come and gather round,
Only love can lift us now,
We find our common thread on a tear-stained ground,
Raise our voices up…lay our flowers down.”

Now folks…this song really grabbed me when I first heard it.  But sitting here, in the dark this morning, illuminated solely by my computer screen…the one that comes to my mind is Jesus.  In this Easter season, as friends of Jesus, what if we heard this song about Him?  All disciples of Christ…meet us on the hill.  The hill that killed.  Hope is dead…only love can lift us now.  Let us meet in a home in Jerusalem and lock ourselves in.  The only thing to do now is to commiserate with one another on this tear-stained ground.  We cannot hold this in.  Let the wailing begin.  Raise up your voices brothers and sisters.  Lay your flowers outside the tomb as we enter to prepare His body.

Oh Lord!  Don’t let us miss the miracle!
For while we were raising up our voices, You God…raised up your Son.

“They were puzzled, wondering what to make of this. Then, out of nowhere it seemed, two men, light cascading over them, stood there. The women were awestruck and bowed down in worship. The men said, “Why are you looking for the Living One in a cemetery? He is not here, but raised up. Remember how he told you when you were still back in Galilee that he had to be handed over to sinners, be killed on a cross, and in three days rise up?” Then they remembered Jesus’ words.”

-Luke 24:4-8, MSG

Love each other.

Leave a Reply

