The Shack – Devo #2

Day two for “The Shack”!  I hope you enjoyed yesterday.  Yesterday was a song by Lady Antebellum today’s track is from Hillsong.  I love the broad range on this album!  Well…we should probably just get into it!

Devo #2: “Heaven Knows

Okay look…you can listen to this song 500 times and that’ll be great.  But I don’t think this song will fully sink into your heart until you read the lyrics.  This song is so beautiful.  It has other connotations for the movie…but this is a perfect anthem of worship.  These lyrics reach out to God for the things we never have the courage to ask Him for.  But these are the words of a young child’s heart in an adult who isn’t sure how to protect that heart in this world of pain, fear, loss, malice, and contrition.

“I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but that you keep them from the evil one. They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world.”

John 17:15-18, ESV

We are different.  We have the heart of a child.  We have a lion heart because we have His heart.  Nothing can hold us down.  Nothing can hold us back.  Embrace these truths this morning.

I have been hearing too much about fear recently.  Fear does not rule us if Jesus does.  Fear is from The Dark One.  Jesus is light.  The two cannot occupy the same space.  Jesus and our God are to marvelous to share the stage.  I’m going to post the lyrics to this song here.  I encourage you to read it as you listen.  Let Jesus hold you up in this battle of life through these lyrics.  And do not be AFRAID.

“Hold my heart, don’t let it bleed no more,
Sometimes forgiveness is like a man at war,
God only knows why love is worth the fall,
Maybe that’s what makes it love,
Maybe that’s what makes it love,

I can hear it now, the everlasting sound,
Roaring like a lion deep within me,
I won’t hold it long, I wasn’t made that strong,
Sweet surrender, hold my heart and not let go,
I’m letting go,
And Heaven knows,
I love you so.

Hold my heart, don’t let it break like fear,
Sometimes a moment feels like a thousand years,
God only knows why love is drenched in tears,
Maybe that’s what makes it love,
Maybe that’s what makes it love,

I can hear it now, the everlasting sound,
Roaring like a lion deep within me,
I won’t hold it long, I wasn’t made that strong,
Sweet surrender, hold my heart and not let go,
I’m letting go,
And Heaven knows,
I love you so.

Then sings my soul,
How great Your love is.
Then sings my soul,
How great Your love is!”

Love each other.

Leave a Reply

