The Shack – Devo #4

Can you feel it?  Where my teachers at?  Can you feel it?  One more day!  Friday is within reach y’all!  You’re gonna make it.  Reach for it.  Fall into the arms of Jesus and let Him get you there with grace!  And let this song help you get that last…little…hard…spell…

Devo #4: “Hard Love”

So…this song.  It’s NEEDTOBREATHE and Janis Joplin.  I’m sorry…I meant Lauren Daigle.  Folks, I’m a little in love with Daigle because her Instagram channel keeps me entertained.  I love her laid back music, even the slow songs, and that is a big thing coming from me.  But Imma need her to rock out more!  She seriously has some Joplin vibes going on in this song and Christian music needs more Joplin.  (No…not cowbell.)  Anyway, I just need to say that to Daigle if she’s listening.  Let’s move on.

This song is awesome!  For me to say my piece this morning, I need to point back to yesterday.  We talked about hell being a place and The Dark One being the ruler of that place.  I have fallen in love, the last couple years, with what I call battle anthems.

This.  Song.  Is.  It.

I just went through Priscilla Shirer‘s Bible study “The Amor of God” with a group of women I love and became very aware of spiritual warfare.  And then this song.  Then the battle anthem of all battle anthems.

“You know the situation can’t be right
And all you ever do is fight
But there’s a reason that the road is long
It take some time to make your courage strong

Hold on tight a little longer
What don’t kill ya, makes ya stronger
Get back up, ’cause it’s a hard love
You can’t change without a fallout
It’s gon’ hurt, but don’t you slow down
Get back up, ’cause it’s a hard love”

This situation isn’t right.  This divorce, this abusive relationship, this wrist cutting, this anorexia, this loneliness.  All you ever do is fight.  Fight for your life, for your husband, for custody, and yes even against The Dark One, king of hell.  There is a reason that this road is long.  There is a reason the treatments aren’t working, the promotion hasn’t come, the doctors couldn’t save him.  It takes time for your courage to become strong.  It takes time for God to get it through our thick skulls that we live in an imperfect world because of that serpent and that fruit.  It takes time for us to understand that we need to hold on tight a little longer…

It takes time for us to learn our battle anthem.  But here it is.  Start today.

“…I will build my church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.”

-Matthew 16:18, ESV

This song is our battle anthem.  Because this scripture is our General’s battle cry.  And they both in essence say the exact same thing to The Dark One:

Come at me, bro.

I’m going to throw one more scripture at you this morning.  Stay with me, I’m trying to let God give me the words to guide you into battle.  Ready?

Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil…Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.  Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace.  In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one; and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication.”

-Ephesians 6:11; 13-18a, ESV

I have cinched the truth of God around my waist.
At my core is the word of God.
I have protected my heart with righteousness,
the righteousness of the God of angel armies.
I have laced fleetness on my feet which I received through peace.
I am protected by faith in the God who has
ALREADY DEFEATED MY ENEMY.
My battle is not a comma…
it is the exclamation point at the end of the war.
I have guarded my head with the salvation my heart first accepted,
but which the God of angel armies has proven to my mind.
And you…Dark One…I come at you weilding the Holy Spirit.
Good luck with that.
Now, I go to my General in prayer,
and I sing our battle anthem.

Submit to God.
Resist The Dark One.
Love each other.

Leave a Reply

