The Shack – Devo #5

Here is what I love about this soundtrack: diversity.  I love that nearly every other song is by a country singer.  I love that NEEDTOBREATHE did a duet with Lauren Daigle.  I love Dierks Bentley.  It’s Friday y’all.  Let’s do this!

Devo #5: “Days of Dark”

This song is grooving.  Dierks is great at songs that groove and this is classic Dierks style right here!  He also does a great job at summing up the darkest of times.

“You can’t make a wish, on a star, when they’re all burnt out
You can’t find that hope, swallowed up, in the deepest dark
The light at the end of the tunnel’s a train
You’re tied to the tracks with the heaviest chain”

Have you felt this before?  Stars burned out.  Light at the end of the tunnel is a locomotive about to run you over.  Cup isn’t half full or half empty.  Cup is broken.  You have gone about as far as you can stand to go and there is no sign that anything is letting up.  Where is the victory?

Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

-Deuteronomy 31:6, ESV

When it seems that nothing is letting up.
Remember that Jesus is getting up.

He is coming off of that cross.  He is coming out of that grave.  He is coming into the middle of your situation to grab you and hold you and never let go.  Maybe this looks like your problem ending…or maybe this looks like you receiving the grace and strength to walk through your circumstance and make it to the other side.  Whatever it looks like for you this morning…don’t give up.  ‘Cause He gets up!

Papa, my friend here is going through something.  I’m not sure what it is or why You’re showing up this way in their life right now.  But Papa I do know a few things.  I know you never leave them.  I know you love them.  I know you have made a place for them.  I know you see them.  I know their name is written on Your hand.  I know You knew them before they were born.  I know You are working all things out to goodness in their life.  No matter how bad the situation you can and will transform it into pure goodness.  I don’t know how…I don’t know when…but I know.
And Papa…I praise You for that.
Amen.

Love each other.

One thought on “The Shack – Devo #5

Leave a Reply

