Open Hands – Devo #2

Good morning one and all.  I hope you had a peaceful Monday and I hope you felt Jesus running after you!  I saw this little comic strip this week and I thought I should share it.

I dragged you.jpg

Can I get an amen?  I know I’ve been dragged by the Spirit!  Glory, HALLELUJAH!!!  But I’m tired of Him having to drag me…I’m ready to take a step.  Today, let’s take another look at Laura Story’s new album, specifically track five.

Devo #2: “For the Love of My King”


I love that this song is the classic hymn, “My Jesus I Love Thee” with an added chorus and bridge.  This song strikes me as another battle anthem.  The lyrics of this hymn are so uplifting and beautiful.  When Laura’s chorus comes in though, we hear the desperation behind such happy, lovey lyrics.

As long as I have breath
Until the end of days
I will sing for the love of my King
Whether in life or death
My heart will ever praise
For the love of my King”

Here is the important lesson to gain from this song.  Sometimes…it isn’t easy.  We can sing the lyrics of “My Jesus I Love Thee”, pouring light on everyone around us while in our own hearts we are in the darkest night.  But when we are in our darkest night…we have a choice to make.  Will we sing as long as we have breath?  Or will we try to save our breath for some future fight, losing it in the end anyway?

“I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God; incline your ear to me; hear my words.”

-Psalm 17:6, ESV

 No matter what comes your way, stand strong on the God that doesn’t change, doesn’t fail, and doesn’t leave you.  When you can’t stand, let Him carry you.  And remember that when all else fails…He’ll drag you until you get up again.

Love each other.

Leave a Reply

