Open Hands – Devo #3

What?  Huh?  You’re probably wondering where these words came from.  You checked earlier today and this post was empty.  And now…AABRA KADABRA!!!  Words.  (Honestly?  I scheduled this post and didn’t go back to finish writing it…don’t judge me.)  But there are words now…and we should dive into them!

Devo #3: “Awake My Soul (A 1000 Tongues)”

Crank this song up this morning!  It’s big, it’s glad, it’s good!  Worship leaders, take note.  We should be proclaiming these truths from the stage on Sunday mornings.  I have recently been learning that worship is not restricted to music.  Have you ever thought about that before?  When you go to church on Sundays, do you treat the music as worship and the scripture as something different?  What about communion?  Have you ever consciously thought about these things also being acts of worship toward our God?  They are!  Our God is worthy of infinite praise.  The praise of 1,000 tongues is due to our God!

“Awake my soul to sing
The glories of my God and king
Arise and praise the one
Worthy of the songs
Of a thousand tongues”

I speak fluent music.  It is one of my favorite languages.  I started this series of blogs out of love for this language.  Look into the scripture, you will see that our God is also fluent in music.  How could He not be, when so many of His creations speak it so well.  David speaks it, the sons of Korah speak it, even the heavenly beings in heaven with our God speak it!

“And then I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and in the sea. They sang: “Blessing and honor and glory and power belong to the one sitting on the throne and to the Lamb forever and ever.”

-Revelation 5:13, NLT

We are all called to all acts of worship.  I can’t say that I’m not as good at prayer as you…therefore I don’t have to do it.  I always used to wimp out of scripture memory by explaining that it was not my “spiritual gift”.  Clever, huh?  Then I discovered orality and started memorizing whole Bible stories…excuse shot.  But what I would suggest to you this morning is that, even though we all speak all the languages of worship to our God, there may be one that you are particularly fluent in.  I encourage you to seek it out.  I spend a lot of time in music, I also very much enjoy my journaling Bible, but look around your life and find what way it is you most sink in to worshiping God.  Embrace it.

Love each other.

 

Leave a Reply

