WORD TO THE WISE: Mountains, Names, & Working from Home

Oh good Sunday morning to all my people out there in the internet!  Okay…that was like…meant to come across super cheerful and the fact of the matter is, I’m writing this through closed eyes, too tired to go turn on the Keurig.  I’m literally waiting to have my coffee until it comes on automatically at six.  Forty five more minutes.  But thats not going to keep me from telling y’all about my big experiences this week.

Well.  It won’t keep me from trying.  It is now thirty minutes…because I got distracted by the 21 coolest gadgets on Amazon.  Forgive me Father for I have sinned…

Mountains

My mother and I have dear family friends who own a condo on the very tippy-top of Beech Mountain here in NC.  It is a precious little place with an amazing view.  They let us go up this week and…it is just such a wonderful and peaceful time.  There’s not a lot to do on the mountain, so mom and I watched some classic movies (“Babette’s Feast”, “Mr. Smith Goes to Washington”, “The Sea Hawk”, “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” [1934], and of course…”Jurassic World”).  It was just so nice to sit back and relax and not have to worry about doing…stuff.  You know stuff  That thing that comes in and always wrecks your peace for a little while?  Yeah.  It was nice to get away from that and just sort of exist for a while.  Such a blessing to have time to relax and think about all God has done, is doing, and will do!

Names

You’re probably already aware from yesterday’s posts that I had a big day Saturday.  I got to speak to an awesome group of women who are doing some amazing things for the Lord.  I got to meet most of them, tell them my name, learn theres, and talk about and in God’s name.  That is all!

Working from Home

This one may be news to some of you.  I recently received a job rejection.  I know I am not the only one struggling with this, but job rejection is a reality in my life.  Like this: I need oxygen; I have brown hair; I get job rejections.  That’s just a truth fact.  And usually…that messes me up for days.  I mean…hard core despair.  This time however…was different.  This job was for a position at a church and it was suggested by another dear friend of the family.  While waiting to go in for the interview, and even after the interview, I had some major “Aha!” moments with God.  Because of these moments, I just couldn’t get out of control depressed with this no.  So I got quiet for a little while and just let my brain and heart go wherever they wanted to go, push on stuff, see if it hurt, that kind of thing.  Then I looked at my mother and said this, “I want to do music.  I want to speak.  I want to write.  And I’m good at those things.  So isn’t it a little crazy to…look for the kind of job the world thinks I’m supposed to have when I know what it is I really want to do?  Shouldn’t I pursue that?”  And now…I’m self-employed.  I’m self-employed and I work from home.  I’m self-employed, I work from home, and I’m booking events as fast as I can!  It is such a blessing to see what God is beginning to do.  Even me just having the wherewithal to say, “I’m going to do this” is truly amazing.  So, I’m working to post more frequent YouTube videos (search “maggiesmusicministry”), I’m trying to blog more consistently, and I’m beginning work on a book this week that I hope to have available soon!  Also, I would truly and utterly LOVE by the way, if you’re reading this and think, “She should come to our ________” (church, retreat, youth group, fundraiser, street fair, etc.) if you would go to the top to “About Maggie” then click the “Contact” link and send me a little message!

This has been your WORD TO THE WISE.  It is now T-minus 13 minutes to coffee.  I think I’m going to lay back down and wait for those 13…12 minutes to pass.  That’s not dangerous…right?

Leave a Reply

