Party In the Hills

IMG_3616

Β©Maggie Lowe

I believe that as Christians we face a problem.

We know what Scripture says about everything being about Jesus.  “Behold, to the Lord your God belong heaven and the heaven of heavens, the earth with all that is in it” (Deut. 10:14), “The heavens are yours; the earth also is yours; the world and all that is in it, you have founded them” (Ps. 89:11), “For the earth is the Lord’s, and the fullness thereof” (1 Cor. 10:26), “Yours is the day, yours also the night; you have established the heavenly lights and the sun” (Ps. 74:16, ESV).

Now, that isn’t the problem I was referring to.  As you can see, it is quite obviously Biblical.  The problem comes in when we are so focused on making Jesus happen in a situation, we completely miss how He happens in the same situation organically.  I’ve had a perfect example of this pop up in my life over the past couple weeks and I would like to share it with you today!

I am a huge lover of rap with Christian lyrics.  (I intend to write another post this week about why I didn’t just say “Christian rap” and I hope you’ll read it!)  That’s besides the point.  The fact is: I love rap with Christian lyrics.  There is a new song out, came out on an album by a young lady named Hollyn.  Hollyn got her start on TobyMac’s most recent album “This is Not a Test”.  Then she put out a self-titled EP and now she has a full-length album entitled “One-Way Conversations”.  If you haven’t listened to it…you should.  If you’re into good soulful pop (think Ariana Grande and Beckah Shae) then…you should just go buy it.  Just go to Lifeway and get yourself a copy.

One of the songs on there, featuring Steven Malcolm and Andy Mineo is called “Party in the Hills”.  Now, the thing about this song is that it is one of the rap songs with Christians lyrics that is not as obvious in its message…its just a fun song.  And there is nothing wrong with that.

Can I just soap box up for a minute?

There is nothing wrong with Christians having fun.  I did my first speaking engagement the other day and the one comment I got repeatedly was, “You’re so good because you made us laugh.”  And I thought to myself, “what a shame it is, that these women as Christians, got so impressed because they got a chance to laugh”.  God has a great sense of humor!  If you don’t believe that, I have 27 years of proof!  He has a great sense of humor, He loves to laugh, He loves to hear us laugh.  So, just having songs that are fun and don’t have questionable lyrics.  That is something that is really important.

Case in point: the Family Force Five Fenomenon.

Those guys have so much fun.  And that is one of the reasons so many people love them! They’re fun, their music is good, their lyrics are appropriate for all ages, and they’re just generally awesome.  I mean…who doesn’t love cranking it like a chainsaw?!?  That is something we need in Christian music!

Wow…I got SOOO OFF TRACK!!!

“Party in the Hills” is a song like that!  It’s for having fun and playing with your best friends!  Hollyn says it right in there, “Shout out to my day one!”  Party in the hills!  What is so cool is that Jesus comes and finds us wherever we are and He can use anything to do it!

Last week, I was doing my Bible reading and I was reading in the book of Joshua.  I was reading in the book of Joshua about Joshua dividing the promised land up among the Israelite tribes.  And I was reading this in the New Century Version and the phrase that I need to highlight is in this translation so allow me to share that with you now:

“The tribe of Judah was also given these towns in the mountain: Shamir, Jattir, Sock, Dannah, Kiriath Sannah, Anab, Eshtemoh, Anim, Goshen, Holon and Giloh.  There were elven towns and their villages.
They were also given these towns in the mountains: Arab, Dumah, Eshan, Janim, Beth Tappuah, Aphekah, Humtah, Kiriath Arba, and Zior.  There were nine towns and their villages.
Judah was also given these towns in the mountains: Maos, Carmel, Ziph, Juttah, Jezreel, Jokdeam, Zanoah, Kain, Gibeah, and Timnah.  There were ten towns and their villages.
They were also given these towns in the mountains: Halhul, Beth Our, Gedor, Maarath, Beth Another, and Eltekon.  There were six towns and their villages.”

-Joshua 15:48-59, NCV

Here is what caught my attention, the one phrase that is repeated repeatedly: “in the mountains“.  Y’all I love it!  Do you see it?  Do you love it?  Joshua is leading the Israelites to literally throw a party in the hills.  Do you see what God did there?!?  I do!  And it cracked me up.

This song is for fun and everything that is created that is good points us back to our Creator or at least it should because He created all good things.  But…in instances like this where He makes Himself so obviously known in a song thats, just supposed to loosen us up (because we really need that!),  I love that He made a Biblical story and lesson so obvious and evident in this song!

So…the next time you hear “Party in the Hills” I want you to think about Joshua; and what I want you to remember is: God gave the Promised land to the Israelites just like He promised to Abraham.  And the Israelites get a bad rep for complaining and we can’t deny thats truth!  But…they also got it right quite a bit and they really knew how to praise God.  When he divided up the land, they got part of the hill country and that is what I want you to remember!

God is so good to provide exactly what He has promised for us.
Because of that, we need to make sure we take time
from time to time —
to throw a party in the hills for fun.

IMG_0864.JPG

Β©Maggie Lowe

Leave a Reply

